## **SUMMARY**

Paskhalis Valsamidis, The Turkish Schools in the Sanjak of Thessaloniki in the Academic Year 1910-1911.

This study is based on unpublished statistics for the Turkish schools in the sanjak of Thessaloniki in the academic year 1910-1911. They are contained in File 46 of the Governorate General of Macedonia in the Historical Archive of Macedonia and are titled «Statistics of Turkish Schools in the Sanjak of Thessaloniki, for the year 1910-1911».

Thessaloniki was the administrative centre and the principal town of the vilayet of that name, which was divided into three sanjaks: Thessaloniki, Serres, and Drama. The sanjak of Thessaloniki was the largest of the three and covered more or less the area of what is now central Greek Macedonia and part of northern Macedonia, which is now in FYROM. In the period under discussion, the sanjak of Thessaloniki comprised the following kazas: 1) Thessaloniki; 2) Katerini; 3) Veria; 4) Vodena; 5) Yanitsa; 6) Karadjova; 7) Tikfes; 8) Gevgelija; 9) Dojran; 10) Avret-Hisar; 11) Lagadas; 12) Poliyiros; 13) Mount Athos; and 14) Strumitsa. There were Turkish schools in all these kazas, apart from Mount Athos and Strumitsa.

This study gives a breakdown of the kazas in the sanjak of Thessaloniki that had Turkish schools on the basis of the data furnished by the Directorate General of Macedonia's statistics. Specifically, we give the year in which the schools were founded, their grade, and the number of pupils, teachers, and superintendents. The statistics mention two categories of school: the Tdadiye (preparatory schools) and the R-9Fsdiye (short-course high schools). There were also public and private schools. Most of the schools in the sanjak were public, private schools being found only within the city of Thessaloniki.

The Turkish schools in those areas of the sanjak of Thessaloniki which became part of the Greek state after the Treaty of Lausanne (1923) closed down when the Turkish population emigrated to Turkey.